Item #63362 The Mindfulness Survival Kit: Five Essential Practices. Thich Nhat Hanh.

The Mindfulness Survival Kit: Five Essential Practices

Book Condition: New
Publisher: Parallax Press, November 2013.
Binding: Trade Paperback
ISBN: 1937006344

The Five Mindfulness Trainings (also referred to as "Precepts")--not to kill, steal, commit adultery, lie, or take intoxicants--are the basic statement of ethics and morality in Buddhism. Zen Master and peace activist Thich Nhat Hanh argues eloquently for their applicability in our daily lives and on a global scale. Nhat Hanh discusses the value and meaning of each precept, offering insights into the role that it could play in our changing society.

Thich Nhat Hanh calls the trainings a "diet for a mindful society". With this book, he offers a Buddhist contribution to the current thinking on how we can come together to define secular, moral guidelines that will allow us to explore and sustain a sane, compassionate, and healthy way of living. The Five Mindfulness Trainings offer a path to restoring meaning and value in our world, whether called virtues, ethics, moral conduct, or precepts they are guidelines for living without bringing harm to others.

Item #63362

Price: $12.95

See all items in Religion
See all items by